Doc Cebu, owned by Charlie Fenwick and trained by Jack Fisher, won the NSA Timber Horse of the Year title while jockey Hadden Frost tied for Amateur Jockey of the Year.

First published in the February 2018 Equiery

Maryland steeplechase trainer Jack Fisher topped both trainer standings (by races won and by money won) with the National Steeplechase Association again this year. This was his fifth consecutive title and 11th overall. Out of 117 starts in 2017, Fisher-trained horses won 25 times, finished second 27 times and third 15 times for total earnings of $1,321,150. This is nearly double the second place finisher Ricky Hendriks for races won (14) and is twice as much as Elizabeth Voss for money won ($514,950).

Darren Nagle earned his first NSA jockey title with 18 wins. In 2017 Nagle also became the 39th jockey to win 100 U.S. jump races. Sean McDermott topped the NSA rider by money won standings with 14 wins, 22 seconds and 14 thirds for a total of $719,550. Keri Brion and Keith Dalton tied for Apprentice Jockey titles while Mark Beecher and Hadden Frost tied for Amateur Jockey titles.

The owner titles went to Bruton Street-US for money won and Irvin Naylor for Timber owner by money won.

Bruton Street-US’ Moscato (GB) was named Novice Hurdler of the Year. The 7-year-old, trained by Fisher, won four out of six starts, finishing second twice. He finished third in the overall standings but no other horse won more jump races in the U.S. in 2017.

Charlie Fenwick’s Doc Cebu won the Timber Horse of the Year title. Also trained by Fisher, Doc Cebu won four out of five starts and placed second once in his first season over timber.

Menacing Dennis won the Three-Year-Old Hurdler title for owner Bonnie Rye Stable and trainer Julie Gomena. Amy Taylor Rowe’s Lady Blanco earned the Filly/Mare title.